Kemi Dasilva Ibru, Tunde Onakoya, Hauwa Allahbura and 17 Others Emerge BudgIT Active Citizens’ Award Finalists


BudgIT is pleased to announce the shortlist of nominees for the maiden edition of the Active.

Citizens Award, scheduled to hold on September 10, 2022, at the Civic Centre, Lagos.
The Award, which is one of BudgIT’s signature initiatives, will celebrate and recognise
personalities, organisations and agencies that are championing causes, programs, and
initiatives that have positively influenced women’s rights, community service, disability rights and inclusion, political activism, civic engagement and action, journalism, human rights, effective service delivery and other gains of social activism in Nigeria.

It will also spark further discussions on the importance of recognising and appreciating development leaders; contributions to good governance and effective service delivery in Nigeria.

Of the ten award categories, only five were open for nomination – the Oby Eszekwesili
Award, the Award for Community Service, the Solution Journalism Award, the Award for
Civic Activism, and the Disability Advocacy/Empowerment Award. With over 300
nominations, we are happy to announce the shortlisted finalists.

The Oby Ezekwesili Award recognises Nigerian women who are breaking societal limits and
impacting Nigeria’s socio-economic development and gender equality. Here are the nominees.
● Adepeju Jaiyeoba, BrownButton Foundation.
● Bisayo Busari Akinnadeju, ProjectOne.
● Oladiwura Oladepo, Tech4Dev.
● Dr Kemi Dasilva Ibru, WARIF.

The Award for Community Service celebrates individuals who have achieved excellence in
their field through creating sustainable impact that has benefited Nigerians, especially in
underserved communities. Here are the nominees.
● Gabriel Obinna Andrew, Community Development Advocate.
● Idris Bilyaminu Ndasadu'Lau, YAPD4Africa.
● Solomon O. Ayodele, Boys Quarters Africa.
● Tunde Onakoya, Chess In Slums.

The Solution Journalism Award recognises the importance of using journalism to institute
civic and social change. Here are the nominees:
● Lisa Gwamkat Gwamzhi, Radio Nigeria.
● Hauwa Shaffii Nuhu, Humangle Media.
● Johnstone Kpilaakaa, Freelance Journalist.
● Taiwo Adebulu, TheCable.

The Award for Civic Activism spotlights the painstaking work that activism does to improve
our democracy. Here are the nominees.
● Nelson Jide Olanipekun, Citizen Gavel.
● Hauwa Allahbura, PullUpNaija.
● Omidiji Olamilekan Qayum, Ymonitor.
● Muazu Alhaji Modu, Spotlight for Transparency and Accountability.

The Disability Advocacy/Empowerment Award recognises individuals or organisations
championing programs enhancing disability inclusion in Nigeria. Here are the nominees.
● Michael Thompson Showunmi, Raising Star Africa.
● David Anyaele, Centre for Citizens with Disabilities.
● Sola Owonikoko, Project Enable.
● Mojisola Odeyinde, Disability Rights Advocacy Centre.

The five other categories not open for nominations include the Award for Institutional
Transparency, the Corporate Award for Civic Investments (For-Profit), the Art for Activism
Award, the Award for Inclusion and Diversity, and the Hall of Fame Award for Civic Activism.

With support from Luminate, we will be spotlighting our finalists and the winners at the
official event – The Active Citizens’ Award, scheduled to hold on Saturday, September 10, 2022,at the Civic Centre, Lagos. We urge every active citizen and all Nigerians to support and join us as we celebrate these personalities for their contribution to Nigeria’s civic ecosystem.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here